First thank you all for advise before hand. I own a 2003 Mainship 35 pilot which has Garmin Chart Plotter utilizing NEMA 2000 back bone. I purchased and installed almost the SPX10 corepack, rudder sensor and st70 control head. I did not install the pump as of yet. I power up the corepack and have no indication of rudder movement and don't know what I should see as far as the flux gate. I just ordered the Raymarine A06046 cable that let me connect the Raymarine to the Nema 2000. So I guess the questions are what am I doing wrong with the rudder indicator and the flux gate and is this cable the correct part to interface between the Garmin NEMA 2000?

Thanks John

Views: 802

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I think once we have the system connected properly you will get a more normal operation.  Please let us know.


Will do I will have the correct kit tomorrow and will install tomorrow evening. I assume it's a straight forward hook up, I have courage saying that after all this.

THe backbone goes between the X10 and the p70r and I assume the seatalk backbone to the nema200 backbone. With each backbone having it's own terminators.
rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

I think once we have the system connected properly you will get a more normal operation.  Please let us know.

What other equipment is on the NMEA 2000 backbone, and who is the manufacturer?

Garmin Chart Plotter 5212 and Garmin GMI10 Instrument Display

You can only have two terminators in both backbone configurations, what you want to do is keep one on the far end of the Garmin backbone and one at the far end of the autopilot backbone.

will do

rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

You can only have two terminators in both backbone configurations, what you want to do is keep one on the far end of the Garmin backbone and one at the far end of the autopilot backbone.

Will be interested in the update.

I will definitely will let you know either way. You have been extremley helpful
 
rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

Will be interested in the update.

Good Morning

I received the backbone kit and tried installing today. The results where the same not able to access the calibration menu etc as listed above. I'm probably not doing it correctly but I will try here to lay it out. The kit had 2 T connectors, 2 terminators and a 5m Blue cable. The X10 had a T connector, a terminator and a white cable. I had purchase a white cable adapter that would plug into the nema 2000 backbone. I tried this AM connecting the adapter cable from the Garmin Back bone to the first Seatalk T then connected the secon T in the back bone to the p70r and used a termiantor on the far end. That left one blue connection on the closest T empty.
 
John Kime said:

I will definitely will let you know either way. You have been extremley helpful
 
rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

Will be interested in the update.

Not sure if you received the above or how you see the e mail trail. I was hopeing that you had some ideas for me to try this evening. I'm going to try again to list the problem and what I tried. Garmin 5200 utilizing a Nema2000 backbone. A new Raymarine X10 with a p70r headunit. I have all the Garmin working and trying to interface the Raymarine. I hooked up the p70 r with the seatalk directly to the x10 as well as I used an adapter cable from the second port on the p70r to the nema2000 backbone. What I got was depth and wind etc on the p70r but I couldn't get pilot calibration and only once got the auto pilot to go into auto which immediatley drove the rudder hard to straboard and went into pump error or disconnect can't remember exactly. As per your instruction I instatalled the Raymarine backbone T16012. I took the seatalk cable (white trace/end) from the x10 and went into the white end of the T. On that same T, I but end of line terminator. From the blue side of the T, I used a short blue jumper and went to the 2nd T, from this T I went to the p70r. From the blue side of this T I used the supplied 5 m cable ( blue) and went to the 3rd T. On the white side I took the adapter cable ( seatalk to nema2000) and plugged it into the Garmin back bone. That leaves one blue port on the 3rd T with nothing in it. The p70 is still experencing the same no calibration access and I can't get the auto pilot to go into auto

OK, this is how it needs to be hooked up, the way you have it is incorrect.

First T piece put a blue terminator into the far blue connector and the spur from the X10 autopilot into the top of that T, then with the blue and black cable, connect to the open blue port of the T piece and connect to the other T piece into the blue port, on the white port of the second T connect the p70 with a white and black cable, you will need a short blue and black backbone cable (400mm - A06033) to connect the third T piece from the open blue end on the second T and blue port of the third T piece, you will then take the adapter cable A06046 and connect to the white port on the third T piece and connect the DeviceNet connector to the Garmin backbone.  You will leave the last blue port open and you will need to make sure the Garmin backbone has it's second terminator removed as well.  If you don't want to go get another backbone cable, you could leave the last T piece off the backbone and connect the Garmin to the course computer via NMEA 0183, they can communicate that way as well.  Send me an response if the Garmin has NMEA 0183 available and I can discuss in more detail that scenario.

Thanks I will try this tonight. Talk to you tomorrow

rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

OK, this is how it needs to be hooked up, the way you have it is incorrect.

First T piece put a blue terminator into the far blue connector and the spur from the X10 autopilot into the top of that T, then with the blue and black cable, connect to the open blue port of the T piece and connect to the other T piece into the blue port, on the white port of the second T connect the p70 with a white and black cable, you will need a short blue and black backbone cable (400mm - A06033) to connect the third T piece from the open blue end on the second T and blue port of the third T piece, you will then take the adapter cable A06046 and connect to the white port on the third T piece and connect the DeviceNet connector to the Garmin backbone.  You will leave the last blue port open and you will need to make sure the Garmin backbone has it's second terminator removed as well.  If you don't want to go get another backbone cable, you could leave the last T piece off the backbone and connect the Garmin to the course computer via NMEA 0183, they can communicate that way as well.  Send me an response if the Garmin has NMEA 0183 available and I can discuss in more detail that scenario.

Reply to Discussion

RSS

Events

Videos

  • Add Videos
  • View All

Photos

Loading…
  • Add Photos
  • View All

Latest Activity

William Coohon replied to William Coohon's discussion i70 v2.17
"??? Seems to be working for me. No indication of what was wrong. Boat just put up for winter so can wait."
5 minutes ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to Rick Bell's discussion NO GPS on RAY55 from AIS650
"Rick, It is generally not recommended that on use the GPS output of the AIS650 for such purposes.   Should the Output GNSS sentences be configured ON, then these sentences will be transmitted along with AIS data via the AIS650's 38400 BAUD…"
56 minutes ago
Rick Bell replied to Rick Bell's discussion NO GPS on RAY55 from AIS650
"I do not want the bridged GPS data from the E127.  Are you saying then that I can not use the GPS from the AIS as the input to the VHF?  Documentation seems to suggest you can. The E127 is nowhere near the AIS and VHF and will be difficult…"
1 hour ago
Profile IconKaren S, Barney Riley, Bazzlar and 9 more joined Raymarine Technical Forum
1 hour ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to Peter Hinton's discussion E-80 boot failure
"Welcome to the Raymarine Technical Forum Peter, It is recommended that the problematic MFD's power cable be unplugged and that the loaded system voltage be measured to ensure that it is within the operating range of the MFD (10.7-32.0 VDC).…"
1 hour ago
Peter Hinton posted a discussion

E-80 boot failure

I have 2 e-80 chartplotters that were working fine. Now the Master unit is expereincing issues booting up. When the power plug is connected, the unit starts to boot, about 2-3 seconds, then it goes black, then starts up again. It never gets the the splash screen and will stay in this loop until the power plug is removed. Factory reset does not work as it never boots into the unit far enough to start. I have disconnected all cables, and then connected only the power plug, but it made no…See More
1 hour ago
Harry Keith replied to Graham Stephen's discussion Updating firmware on SeaTalk/SeaTalkNG Converter, i70 and ST70
"Paul, Amen brother!  While the iI70 is a sweet piece of gear, I'm going to pull the trigger on two B&G Triton's this month because they sell a $100 dongle -- and are working to bring an Actisense solution to the table. I have…"
2 hours ago
Paul replied to Graham Stephen's discussion Updating firmware on SeaTalk/SeaTalkNG Converter, i70 and ST70
"OK, well it has been well over a year since the original question came up.  Has a way been found to update the firmware on the i70 from a PC?  Like the original poster I have i70 displays as cockpit instruments and an Actisence gateway…"
2 hours ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to roddy henderson's discussion E-80 MFD white screen, after lightning nearby
"Roddy, You may want to try the Factory Reset procedure found here.  However, I suspect that it's going to need to be repaired."
2 hours ago
Peter Hinton replied to roddy henderson's discussion E-80 MFD white screen, after lightning nearby
" I have a very similar problem. Just plugging the power plug in starts the cycle and it continues until the power plug is removed.   Did you find resolution to your problem?   Peter"
2 hours ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to Rick Bell's discussion NO GPS on RAY55 from AIS650
"Welcome to the Raymarine Technical Forum Nick, The AIS350/650/500 AIS Receiver/Transceivers are not designed to function as SeaTalkng to NMEA 0183 data bridges.  Had your AIS650 been interfaced via 38400 BAUD NMEA 0183 communications to your…"
2 hours ago
Rick Bell posted a discussion

NO GPS on RAY55 from AIS650

I am trying to have my AIS650 send GPS data to my RAY55 using the low speed MNEA0183 bus in a new installation.I have an E127 connected to the AIS650 via NGI have connected the AIS650 to the RAY55 using the low speed bus as per the wiring diagram on page 43 of the AiS650 manual 05-2011High speed NMEA bus not connected as I am using NG to all other devices.The AIS650 is configured and sending data to my I70's and E127 just fine.The AIS is sending serial data just fine, shown on the ProAIS…See More
3 hours ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to Adam Hyde's discussion Engine Alarms require too many button presses on ignition
"Noted."
3 hours ago
paul shared William Coohon's discussion on Twitter
3 hours ago
paul replied to William Coohon's discussion i70 v2.17
"Seems strange that Raymarine didn't take the same approach that they did with the a,c,e series 10.41 release withdrawal and publicised the withdrawal. I have i70 V2.17 installed and now have no idea what to do or whether Raymarine will support…"
3 hours ago
Adam Hyde replied to Adam Hyde's discussion Engine Alarms require too many button presses on ignition
"I have been in touch with Raymarine's product management team and supplied them a log file.   I am pleased to report that they have found the problem and have said the fix will be included in Lighthouse v.12 when it is next released."
3 hours ago

© 2014   Created by Moderator - Raymarine, US.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service