First thank you all for advise before hand. I own a 2003 Mainship 35 pilot which has Garmin Chart Plotter utilizing NEMA 2000 back bone. I purchased and installed almost the SPX10 corepack, rudder sensor and st70 control head. I did not install the pump as of yet. I power up the corepack and have no indication of rudder movement and don't know what I should see as far as the flux gate. I just ordered the Raymarine A06046 cable that let me connect the Raymarine to the Nema 2000. So I guess the questions are what am I doing wrong with the rudder indicator and the flux gate and is this cable the correct part to interface between the Garmin NEMA 2000?

Thanks John

Views: 895

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I think once we have the system connected properly you will get a more normal operation.  Please let us know.


Will do I will have the correct kit tomorrow and will install tomorrow evening. I assume it's a straight forward hook up, I have courage saying that after all this.

THe backbone goes between the X10 and the p70r and I assume the seatalk backbone to the nema200 backbone. With each backbone having it's own terminators.
rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

I think once we have the system connected properly you will get a more normal operation.  Please let us know.

What other equipment is on the NMEA 2000 backbone, and who is the manufacturer?

Garmin Chart Plotter 5212 and Garmin GMI10 Instrument Display

You can only have two terminators in both backbone configurations, what you want to do is keep one on the far end of the Garmin backbone and one at the far end of the autopilot backbone.

will do

rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

You can only have two terminators in both backbone configurations, what you want to do is keep one on the far end of the Garmin backbone and one at the far end of the autopilot backbone.

Will be interested in the update.

I will definitely will let you know either way. You have been extremley helpful
 
rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

Will be interested in the update.

Good Morning

I received the backbone kit and tried installing today. The results where the same not able to access the calibration menu etc as listed above. I'm probably not doing it correctly but I will try here to lay it out. The kit had 2 T connectors, 2 terminators and a 5m Blue cable. The X10 had a T connector, a terminator and a white cable. I had purchase a white cable adapter that would plug into the nema 2000 backbone. I tried this AM connecting the adapter cable from the Garmin Back bone to the first Seatalk T then connected the secon T in the back bone to the p70r and used a termiantor on the far end. That left one blue connection on the closest T empty.
 
John Kime said:

I will definitely will let you know either way. You have been extremley helpful
 
rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

Will be interested in the update.

Not sure if you received the above or how you see the e mail trail. I was hopeing that you had some ideas for me to try this evening. I'm going to try again to list the problem and what I tried. Garmin 5200 utilizing a Nema2000 backbone. A new Raymarine X10 with a p70r headunit. I have all the Garmin working and trying to interface the Raymarine. I hooked up the p70 r with the seatalk directly to the x10 as well as I used an adapter cable from the second port on the p70r to the nema2000 backbone. What I got was depth and wind etc on the p70r but I couldn't get pilot calibration and only once got the auto pilot to go into auto which immediatley drove the rudder hard to straboard and went into pump error or disconnect can't remember exactly. As per your instruction I instatalled the Raymarine backbone T16012. I took the seatalk cable (white trace/end) from the x10 and went into the white end of the T. On that same T, I but end of line terminator. From the blue side of the T, I used a short blue jumper and went to the 2nd T, from this T I went to the p70r. From the blue side of this T I used the supplied 5 m cable ( blue) and went to the 3rd T. On the white side I took the adapter cable ( seatalk to nema2000) and plugged it into the Garmin back bone. That leaves one blue port on the 3rd T with nothing in it. The p70 is still experencing the same no calibration access and I can't get the auto pilot to go into auto

OK, this is how it needs to be hooked up, the way you have it is incorrect.

First T piece put a blue terminator into the far blue connector and the spur from the X10 autopilot into the top of that T, then with the blue and black cable, connect to the open blue port of the T piece and connect to the other T piece into the blue port, on the white port of the second T connect the p70 with a white and black cable, you will need a short blue and black backbone cable (400mm - A06033) to connect the third T piece from the open blue end on the second T and blue port of the third T piece, you will then take the adapter cable A06046 and connect to the white port on the third T piece and connect the DeviceNet connector to the Garmin backbone.  You will leave the last blue port open and you will need to make sure the Garmin backbone has it's second terminator removed as well.  If you don't want to go get another backbone cable, you could leave the last T piece off the backbone and connect the Garmin to the course computer via NMEA 0183, they can communicate that way as well.  Send me an response if the Garmin has NMEA 0183 available and I can discuss in more detail that scenario.

Thanks I will try this tonight. Talk to you tomorrow

rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

OK, this is how it needs to be hooked up, the way you have it is incorrect.

First T piece put a blue terminator into the far blue connector and the spur from the X10 autopilot into the top of that T, then with the blue and black cable, connect to the open blue port of the T piece and connect to the other T piece into the blue port, on the white port of the second T connect the p70 with a white and black cable, you will need a short blue and black backbone cable (400mm - A06033) to connect the third T piece from the open blue end on the second T and blue port of the third T piece, you will then take the adapter cable A06046 and connect to the white port on the third T piece and connect the DeviceNet connector to the Garmin backbone.  You will leave the last blue port open and you will need to make sure the Garmin backbone has it's second terminator removed as well.  If you don't want to go get another backbone cable, you could leave the last T piece off the backbone and connect the Garmin to the course computer via NMEA 0183, they can communicate that way as well.  Send me an response if the Garmin has NMEA 0183 available and I can discuss in more detail that scenario.

Reply to Discussion

RSS

Events

Videos

  • Add Videos
  • View All

Photos

Loading…
  • Add Photos
  • View All

Latest Activity

Frank Corrigan replied to Frank Corrigan's discussion Software Upgrade
" "
1 hour ago
Jim thomoson replied to Jim thomoson's discussion Dragonfly Pro
"Thank you for such a prompt response. Regarding the a-series, I understand that to be a backup unit if the primary unit failed but doesn't the a series have to be hard wired into the existing setup so it would also be unusable in the event of…"
2 hours ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to Jim thomoson's discussion Dragonfly Pro
"Welcome to the Raymarine Technical Forum Jim, Thanks for the product request.  It wlll be logged accordingly.  While its conceivable that a Dragonfly display may be used as a backup GPS/Charplotter, many will opt to installed or keep an…"
3 hours ago
Jim thomoson posted a discussion

Dragonfly Pro

As many as mentioned, it's disappointing that there isn't a ray marine hand held gps / chart plotter available for use as a backup system. I have an e127 and 4kw 24" HD radar system and want to somehow use a dragonfly 5 pro as a backup navigation unit. Is this possible? Can it be mounted and hard wired if desired, but be powered by a booster pack or something similar in the event of a total electrical failure? I want to be able to plug in and go with the backup unit in event of a failure and…See More
3 hours ago
Profile IconMike snooks, Jim thomoson, Dennis Brumbaugh and 12 more joined Raymarine Technical Forum
3 hours ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to don carpenter's discussion adding software
"Don, As indicated within my initial response, the CF memory capacity restriction is only associated with updating the MFD's software to then accommodate use of the latest Navionics cartography. The version of software which is currently…"
3 hours ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to Jon Condra's discussion E-series classic MFD upgrade
"Welcome to the Raymarine Technical Forum Jon, Unfortunately, Raymarine has not developed adapter bezel kits for the eS-Series MFDs.  If replacing with an eS-Series MFD it would be necessary to modify the surface (i.e. re-glass or cover the…"
3 hours ago
Jon Condra posted a discussion

E-series classic MFD upgrade

I'm considering upgrading my E80 classic MFD to either an e95 or one of the newer eS9x units.  I know that a bezel is available to adapt the E80 cutout to install an e95, but I haven't heard anything about one that would allow installing an eS series unit.  Is there (or will there be) an adapter kit to install an eS9x MFD in an E80 cutout?  Thanks.See More
4 hours ago
don carpenter replied to don carpenter's discussion adding software
"So as I understand it, the navionics gold card and a CF memory card that does not exceed 128 MB is what I need? Once I have them, what do I do? "
4 hours ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to Alberto Lojo Santamaria's discussion Transducer E66024
"Welcome to the Raymarine Technical Forum Alberto, The items which you have identified are indeed compatible.  Should you ever have issues with the DSM300, then the transducer may simply be adapted (with E66066 Transducer Adapter Cable) to be…"
4 hours ago
Alberto Lojo Santamaria posted a discussion

Transducer E66024

I am changing the electronics of my boat.I have a new E127 and an used DSM 300 with transducer E66024 50/200KHz.It is satisfactory or i need change anything?Thanks,See More
4 hours ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to Tom Baldwin's discussion Dual-Freq. Raytheon transducer with Raymarine eS series
"Welcome to the Raymarine Technical Forum Tom, Unfortunately, transducers designed for use with the V850 cannot be used or adapted for use with an a/c/e/eS/gS-Series MFD or CP370.  Please click here to view the transducers which may be…"
5 hours ago
Tom Baldwin posted a discussion

Dual-Freq. Raytheon transducer with Raymarine eS series

Will Raytheon 200/50 dual-freq transducer that came with 1995 (year) Raytheon V850 fish finder/plotter work with the new Raymarine eS Series mfd ?See More
5 hours ago
Frederico Pereira Arentz posted a discussion

Satelite TV in South America Atlantic Ocean

What is the cheapest satelite TV system that works in Brasilian Coast?See More
5 hours ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to don carpenter's discussion adding software
"Welcome to the Raymarine Technical Forum Don, It is indeed possible to use a Navionics Gold or Navionics+ chart card with the C-Series Classic MFDs when these MFDs have been updated with the latest C-Series Classic MFD software.  While the…"
5 hours ago
don carpenter posted a discussion

adding software

 I have a 2007 raymarine C 120 ( classic ) on the boat I just bought. It does not have a card in it.  Obviously, I need a card. I assume it would need a Navionics Gold card??  Someone said I could use the new Navionics Plus card instead?Someone also told me I have to update the software prior to inserting the card. How do I go about that?  What do I need to buy for that?This is all new to me so please be as simplistic as possible. This is not my strong point! Thanks!Don CSee More
5 hours ago

© 2016   Created by Moderator - Raymarine, US.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service