First thank you all for advise before hand. I own a 2003 Mainship 35 pilot which has Garmin Chart Plotter utilizing NEMA 2000 back bone. I purchased and installed almost the SPX10 corepack, rudder sensor and st70 control head. I did not install the pump as of yet. I power up the corepack and have no indication of rudder movement and don't know what I should see as far as the flux gate. I just ordered the Raymarine A06046 cable that let me connect the Raymarine to the Nema 2000. So I guess the questions are what am I doing wrong with the rudder indicator and the flux gate and is this cable the correct part to interface between the Garmin NEMA 2000?

Thanks John

Views: 874

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I think once we have the system connected properly you will get a more normal operation.  Please let us know.


Will do I will have the correct kit tomorrow and will install tomorrow evening. I assume it's a straight forward hook up, I have courage saying that after all this.

THe backbone goes between the X10 and the p70r and I assume the seatalk backbone to the nema200 backbone. With each backbone having it's own terminators.
rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

I think once we have the system connected properly you will get a more normal operation.  Please let us know.

What other equipment is on the NMEA 2000 backbone, and who is the manufacturer?

Garmin Chart Plotter 5212 and Garmin GMI10 Instrument Display

You can only have two terminators in both backbone configurations, what you want to do is keep one on the far end of the Garmin backbone and one at the far end of the autopilot backbone.

will do

rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

You can only have two terminators in both backbone configurations, what you want to do is keep one on the far end of the Garmin backbone and one at the far end of the autopilot backbone.

Will be interested in the update.

I will definitely will let you know either way. You have been extremley helpful
 
rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

Will be interested in the update.

Good Morning

I received the backbone kit and tried installing today. The results where the same not able to access the calibration menu etc as listed above. I'm probably not doing it correctly but I will try here to lay it out. The kit had 2 T connectors, 2 terminators and a 5m Blue cable. The X10 had a T connector, a terminator and a white cable. I had purchase a white cable adapter that would plug into the nema 2000 backbone. I tried this AM connecting the adapter cable from the Garmin Back bone to the first Seatalk T then connected the secon T in the back bone to the p70r and used a termiantor on the far end. That left one blue connection on the closest T empty.
 
John Kime said:

I will definitely will let you know either way. You have been extremley helpful
 
rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

Will be interested in the update.

Not sure if you received the above or how you see the e mail trail. I was hopeing that you had some ideas for me to try this evening. I'm going to try again to list the problem and what I tried. Garmin 5200 utilizing a Nema2000 backbone. A new Raymarine X10 with a p70r headunit. I have all the Garmin working and trying to interface the Raymarine. I hooked up the p70 r with the seatalk directly to the x10 as well as I used an adapter cable from the second port on the p70r to the nema2000 backbone. What I got was depth and wind etc on the p70r but I couldn't get pilot calibration and only once got the auto pilot to go into auto which immediatley drove the rudder hard to straboard and went into pump error or disconnect can't remember exactly. As per your instruction I instatalled the Raymarine backbone T16012. I took the seatalk cable (white trace/end) from the x10 and went into the white end of the T. On that same T, I but end of line terminator. From the blue side of the T, I used a short blue jumper and went to the 2nd T, from this T I went to the p70r. From the blue side of this T I used the supplied 5 m cable ( blue) and went to the 3rd T. On the white side I took the adapter cable ( seatalk to nema2000) and plugged it into the Garmin back bone. That leaves one blue port on the 3rd T with nothing in it. The p70 is still experencing the same no calibration access and I can't get the auto pilot to go into auto

OK, this is how it needs to be hooked up, the way you have it is incorrect.

First T piece put a blue terminator into the far blue connector and the spur from the X10 autopilot into the top of that T, then with the blue and black cable, connect to the open blue port of the T piece and connect to the other T piece into the blue port, on the white port of the second T connect the p70 with a white and black cable, you will need a short blue and black backbone cable (400mm - A06033) to connect the third T piece from the open blue end on the second T and blue port of the third T piece, you will then take the adapter cable A06046 and connect to the white port on the third T piece and connect the DeviceNet connector to the Garmin backbone.  You will leave the last blue port open and you will need to make sure the Garmin backbone has it's second terminator removed as well.  If you don't want to go get another backbone cable, you could leave the last T piece off the backbone and connect the Garmin to the course computer via NMEA 0183, they can communicate that way as well.  Send me an response if the Garmin has NMEA 0183 available and I can discuss in more detail that scenario.

Thanks I will try this tonight. Talk to you tomorrow

rhino horn - Raymarine, US said:

OK, this is how it needs to be hooked up, the way you have it is incorrect.

First T piece put a blue terminator into the far blue connector and the spur from the X10 autopilot into the top of that T, then with the blue and black cable, connect to the open blue port of the T piece and connect to the other T piece into the blue port, on the white port of the second T connect the p70 with a white and black cable, you will need a short blue and black backbone cable (400mm - A06033) to connect the third T piece from the open blue end on the second T and blue port of the third T piece, you will then take the adapter cable A06046 and connect to the white port on the third T piece and connect the DeviceNet connector to the Garmin backbone.  You will leave the last blue port open and you will need to make sure the Garmin backbone has it's second terminator removed as well.  If you don't want to go get another backbone cable, you could leave the last T piece off the backbone and connect the Garmin to the course computer via NMEA 0183, they can communicate that way as well.  Send me an response if the Garmin has NMEA 0183 available and I can discuss in more detail that scenario.

Reply to Discussion

RSS

Events

Videos

  • Add Videos
  • View All

Photos

Loading…
  • Add Photos
  • View All

Latest Activity

Mikie updated their profile
14 minutes ago
Mikie replied to Mikie's discussion ST40 not displaying anything... HELP
"Thanks for the reply... I may have jumped the gun and purchased a new Rotavecta which I'll have and test tomorrow and if it still doesn't work I'll have to send in the entire OLD unit as you suggest.  I found the paint on the…"
20 minutes ago
Brian replied to Brian's discussion No temperature
"I have it setup for the transducer it used to work then it started not working sometimes and now not at all"
25 minutes ago
Mike Cortina replied to Mike Cortina's discussion Ray 55 "NO POS DATA" periodically after installing AIS - happens with water Depth
"Confirmed.  "
42 minutes ago
stephen schempp replied to joao m t p reis's discussion C90w update
"Can you send a direct link where to sign in.... thanks!  "
58 minutes ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to Mike Cortina's discussion Ray 55 "NO POS DATA" periodically after installing AIS - happens with water Depth
"Mike, Please verify that you have interfaced the MFD, AIS650, and VHF radio to one another per the attached chart.  The MFD's NMEA 0183 port will need to be configured to "AIS 38400"."
1 hour ago
Jay replied to Jay's discussion Ray 53 Mcrophone wiring
"I guess I can just put a large screw-eye in the center of the case and use it for a boat anchor.... Seems a little extreme to require an FCC Tech to wire a mike, but FCC regs are what they are and you have to respect them or bear the brunt of an…"
1 hour ago
M. Johnson replied to M. Johnson's discussion Add RL70 to SeaTalk ng Network
"As to A1, I understand.  I worded that incorrectly. Thank you very much for your informative and helpful responses! "
1 hour ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to BOB FRAK's discussion c7 Data bar
"Welcome to the Raymarine Technical Forum Bob, A second Databar row is only supported by the touchscreen a, e, eS, and gS-Series MFDs.  As the c-Series MFDs do not feature a touch screen, the Databar of these MFDs is limited to a single row.…"
1 hour ago
James Jennison replied to David Margerison's discussion Wifi
"I tried the steps with Rayviewer v2.05 aug 27, 2013..is there a different application I should be using?..this is what I get: see attached pictures"
1 hour ago
BOB FRAK posted a discussion

c7 Data bar

Is there a way to add a second data bar at the top of the screen?See More
1 hour ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to Andrew Sonis's discussion Raytech RNS and ethernet connection
"Welcome to the Raymarine Technical Forum Andrew, Is there a chart card within the MFD's memory card reader?  If so, it is recommended that it be removed and that the system then be tested again.  If the MFD and RayTech can communicate…"
1 hour ago
Mike Cortina replied to Mike Cortina's discussion Ray 55 "NO POS DATA" periodically after installing AIS - happens with water Depth
"Raymarine AIS 650.  "
1 hour ago
Andrew Sonis posted a discussion

Raytech RNS and ethernet connection

I know this has been discussed previously, but still trying to troubleshoot problem with Raytech RNS, Windows 7, and ethernet connection.When originally installed, system worked fine as a repeater for my MFD (C90W).  In the off season took the computer off the boat and when I reconnected during commisioning, no longer functioned.I uninstalled/reinstalled RNS 6.2, did the network config (used 10.07(?) as recommended in previous post), but when I open RNS I get a rudimentary rendition of a…See More
1 hour ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to M. Johnson's discussion Add RL70 to SeaTalk ng Network
"M. Johnson, Q1. As I have the ACU-100, and all runs are under 15m, I can/should connect p70, i70, EVO-1 and ACU-100 via Spur Cables and/or proper daisy chains.  A1. Please note that the ACU-100 and EV1-Sensor Core only feature a singe SeaTalkng…"
1 hour ago
Moderator - Raymarine, US replied to Ray Trask's discussion Hailer connector for a Raytheon 220
"Ray, G623761-7 is a 4-pin NMEA 0183 Cable assembly and would not be used for this purpose.  Unfortunately this VHF radio has been retired for quite some time now and cables from other Raymarine VHF radios which may be substituted for the…"
1 hour ago

© 2015   Created by Moderator - Raymarine, US.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service